top of page

The Girl With The Ghost Machine: Overwhelming With Emotion // ARC Review


SYNOPSIS

When Emmaline Beaumont's father started building the ghost machine, she didn't expect it to bring her mother back from the dead.

But by locking himself in the basement to toil away at his hopes, Monsieur Beaumont has become obsessed with the contraption and neglected the living, and Emmaline is tired of feeling forgotten. Nothing good has come from building the ghost machine, and Emmaline decides that the only way to bring her father back will be to make the ghost machine work...

or destroy it forever.

Page Count: 224 pages

Genre: Fantasy // Middle Grade

Rating: 4 stars

Release Date: June 6, 2017

MILANA'S REVIEW

Oh wow, this story made me THINK, it made me cry and it left me with this solemn yet hopeful feeling.

What is it about cartoons and young reader books that make me cry big fat tears? I mean the last time I cried like this was when I saw The Good Dinosaur earlier this year,even Alex teared up a bit during that movie.

This is a 9-12 read but has so much emotion to it I highly recommend it to adults as well. It reminded me of Coraline due to the dark depths of the book and the age of the character is so close to Coraline as well. However, this book stands on its own feet without having to compare it to anything else.

The writing was fluid and wonderful, the character was so precious and the memories from her POV sliced me open. This book is about love and loss and the feel of how a child views a parent. For anyone who has lost a family member or friend tread cautiously as this will bring up those moments as the subject matter is very heavy. It would be a wonderful book to read with a young one who has suffered loss and has very important lessons throughout it.

**Huge thanks to Bloomsbury for sending this my way!**


bottom of page