top of page

Reign Of The Fallen: The Dead Arise


SYNOPSIS

Odessa is one of Karthia's master necromancers, catering to the kingdom's ruling Dead. Whenever a noble dies, it's Odessa's job to raise them by retrieving their souls from a dreamy and dangerous shadow world called the Deadlands.

But there is a cost to being raised--the Dead must remain shrouded, or risk transforming into zombie-like monsters known as Shades. If even a hint of flesh is exposed, the grotesque transformation will begin. A dramatic uptick in Shade attacks raises suspicions and fears among Odessa's necromancer community. Soon a crushing loss of one of their own reveals a disturbing conspiracy: someone is intentionally creating Shades by tearing shrouds from the Dead--and training them to attack. Odessa is faced with a terrifying question:

What if her necromancer's magic is the weapon that brings Karthia to its knees?

Page Count: 375 pages

Genre: Young Adult // Fantasy

Rating: 3 stars

Publisher: Razorbill, an imprint of Penguin Random House

Release Date: January 23, 2018

MILANA'S REVIEW

Every so often you get really excited for a book, it's the book you're waiting for, it's the book that you think will connect with you the most. That's what Reign of the Fallen was for me! I was so excited! A bisexual main character, a plot set in the deadlands, necromancers, action, mystery!

I loved the world and the descriptions of the deadlands. It was expertly woven and I felt at home with the darkness. The action sequences were well executed and captured me. However, the book fell short for me. I just couldn't connect with the main character. I found the plot twist at the beginning came too soon, as in a book too soon. I wish that had been moved to book two and the emotional connection between reader and characters was more developed. That being said I really think you should give Reign of the Fallen a shot! You might be the perfect person to connect with the main character!

Thank you PenguinTeen Canada for sending me a finished copy for an honest review!


bottom of page