top of page

Love & Other Carnivorous Plants: ARC Review


SYNOPSIS

Freshman year at Harvard was the most anticlimactic year of Danny's life.

She's failing pre-med and drifting apart from her best friend.

One by one, Danny is losing all the underpinnings of her identity.

When she finds herself attracted to an older, edgy girl who she met in rehab for an eating disorder, she finally feels like she might be finding a new sense of self.

But when tragedy strikes, her self-destructive tendencies come back to haunt her as she struggles to discover who that self really is.

Author: Florence Gonsalves

Page Count: 352 pages

Genre: Contemporary // Young Adult

Rating: 4 stars

Publisher: Little Brown Young Readers, an imprint of Little Brown

Release Date: May 15, 2018

MILANA'S REVIEW

This is the year of contemporaries for me. I've been on a huge kick reading them and when this ARC landed on my doorstep I knew I was in the perfect mood for it. I read Love & Other Carnivorous Plants in one sitting my friends! It was such a fresh new take I couldn't put it down. I've said it before and I'm going to say it again, we NEED more books set in college. There are so many themes that need to be explored and so many people who can relate to college experiences.

The main character in this one was so sarcastic and funny but also undergoing a huge life altering mental illness. This book explores mental health, sexuality and the journey college students go through in first year as well as loss. The humour was a good mix with the heavy topics in the book and it all worked so well together. It was a heavy read but also uplifting. I highly recommend this one!!

**Thank you Hachette Book Group Canada for sending me the ARC for an honest review.**


bottom of page