top of page

Our Chemical Hearts: Unexpectedly Wonderful


SYNOPSIS

Henry Page has never been in love. He fancies himself a hopeless romantic, but the slo-mo, heart palpitating, can't-eat-can't-sleep kind of love that he's been hoping for just hasn't been in the cards for him-at least not yet. Instead, he's been happy to focus on his grades, on getting into a semi-decent college and finally becoming editor of his school newspaper. Then Grace Town walks into his first period class on the third Tuesday of senior year and he knows everything's about to change. Grace isn't who Henry pictured as his dream girl-she walks with a cane, wears oversized boys' clothes, and rarely seems to shower. But when Grace and Henry are both chosen to edit the school paper, he quickly finds himself falling for her. It's obvious there's something broken about Grace, but it seems to make her even more beautiful to Henry, and he wants nothing more than to help her put the pieces back together again.

And yet, this isn't your average story of boy meets girl. Krystal Sutherland's brilliant debut is equal parts wit and heartbreak, a potent reminder of the bittersweet bliss that is first love.

Page Count: 320 pages

Genre: Young Adult // Contemporary

Rating: 4.5 stars

Release Date: October 4, 2016

MILANA'S REVIEW

How did I ever think that contemporary would be a genre I would have no interest in? How?? I adored this book. It was equal parts sweet, equal parts serious. I recently read Sutherland's newest release, A Semi-Definitive List of Worst Nightmares, and was so happy with how well she writes! I always thought contemporary would be hard for me because of the writing but damn, she is SO GOOD at writing. My contemporary shelf is growing and I love it!

Our Chemical Hearts was so lovely because Henry, the main character, is just so loveable. I really felt for him. He had me totally rooting for him. Surprisingly, I really disliked the love interest, Grace. She just rubbed me the wrong way but I knew Sutherland wouldn't disappoint me in the end!

Top 5 reasons you'll love this book:

5. gender equality (done SO well)

4. the banter between the teens is so hilarious

3. the friendships

2. Henry

1. all the Harry Potter references!

Grab Our Chemical Hearts, you won't regret it!


bottom of page