top of page

Children of Blood & Bone: "Oh My Gods!"


SYNOPSIS

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zelie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls. But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were targeted and killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope. Now, Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good. Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers—and her growing feelings for the enemy.

Author: Tomi Adeyemi

Page Count: 525 pages

Genre: Young Adult // YA Fantasy

Rating: 4 stars

Publisher: Henry Holt

Release Date: March 6, 2018

MILANA'S REVIEW

Are you like me and literally cannot stop staring at this cover? It's brilliant! And just wait until you see under the cover of the hardcover! SWOON. The aesthetics of this book will add flair to your shelf.

Let's get to the goods - the story. I really enjoyed this book! The way Adeyemi tackles important issues that face society today and translates it into a fantasy book is amazing. Her portrayal of women made me squeal! I love the strong female characters in this book, it's everything!

I had one small qualm due to the repetitive word "skies" and "Gods". I completely understand it's a part of the story and a part of the world's language but it stood out to me. That's just me though! Lots of other readers I know didn't even notice. I do have a funny story though: at one point I actually said out loud "Oh My Gods!" because it was quite the moment haha! Hence the title of this post. We'll see how her writing progresses in book two. That's my favourite about reading a continuing series!

**Thank you Raincoast Books for sending a finished copy my way for an honest review.**


bottom of page