top of page

Top Ten Tuesday: Books That Surprised Me


You know what the best feeling is after reading a book? When a book completely surprises you and blows you away! When you're left thinking about the book days, weeks, months, even years after! When someone asks you for a book recommendation you know these will be your go to. Keep reading, you'll want to add at least one to your TBR. All of these titles deserve all the love.

__________

10. The Art of Racing In The Rain by Garth Stein

Why did it surprise me? Mostly due to the fact that never has a book made me cry like The Art of Racing In The Rain has.

9. Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel

Why did it surprise me? I am so picky with my Science Fiction reads and this one blew me away I really hope it gets brought to the big screen.

8. All The Ugly & Wonderful Things by Bryn Greenwood

Why did it surprise me? This book challenged me in the most complicated ways. I still think about how it made me feel. Chapters Indigo // Book Depository // Goodreads

7. Lullabies For Little Criminals by Heather O'Neill

Why did it surprise me? This book will never leave me. It was a completely different read and it crushed my wee little heart. Such a powerful story.

6. Your One & Only by Adrienne Finlay

Why did it surprise me? I had no idea what I was going into and it blew me away! If you liked The Chrysalids or The Giver you'll really enjoy this one.

5. Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

Why did it surprise me? This was the very first adult fiction book I read in high school and it catapulted my reading to new heights. This book will shock you.

4. Saga by Brian K. Vaughan

Why did it surprise me? I didn't expect anything! Everything was surprised and amazing.

3. Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman

Why did it surprise me? I accidentally skipped to the end of this in audiobook format and even with a spoiled ending the book was amazing and still surprised me.

2. Uprooted by Naomi Novik

Why did it surprise me? It reminded me of European fairy tales and completely pulled me in.

1. October Daye by Seanan McGuire

Why did it surprise me? I never had a favourite series before October Daye! It surprised me because it snagged that spot with flying colours!


bottom of page