top of page

The Pomegranate Witch


SYNOPSIS

Each year,

local kids scheme to pick ripe pomegranates off a haunted tree.

And are thwarted by The Pomegranate Witch in a friendly challenge of wits.

However, on Halloween, while the witch is away...

a Kindly Lady has a surprise for every child.

Author: Denise Doyen and Eliza Wheeler

Page Count: 36 pages

Genre: Children's

Rating: 4.5 stars

Publisher: Chronicle Books

Release Date: August 1, 2017

MILANA'S REVIEW

1. The Illustrations

A lot of the pages have expansive illustrations. By that I mean they capture the whole picture and I just love the pomegranate tree.

2. The Characters

I love the diversity of characters in this book. Every child will see itself in these characters and I love how funny the kids are! I would've loved The Pomegranate Witch personally since I was a bit of a darker child haha!

3. The Themes

The book completely does a twist on the theme of appearances. The children spend so much time preparing to face the witch but when they arrive at The Pomegranate Witches home not all is as it seems. Don't judge others is a big theme in this one as well as what it means to truly work as a team.

I've re-read this cute book a bunch of times and it's going on my permanent Children's section on my shelves. I love that this wasn't a regular apple tree of focus but instead was a pomegranate tree, so unique and clever. Thank you Chronicle Books for sending me a copy, I just love it! Grab this one for this upcoming Halloween season for your little ones!


bottom of page