top of page

My Lady Jane: A Hilarious Retelling


SYNOPSIS

The comical, fantastical, romantical, (not) entirely true story of Lady Jane Grey.

In My Lady Jane, coauthors Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows have created a one-of-a-kind fantasy in the tradition of The Princess Bride, featuring a reluctant king, an even more reluctant queen, a noble steed, and only a passing resemblance to actual history—because sometimes history needs a little help. At sixteen, Lady Jane Grey is about to be married off to a stranger and caught up in a conspiracy to rob her cousin, King Edward, of his throne. But those trifling problems aren’t for Jane to worry about.

Jane is about to become the Queen of England.

Page Count: 491 pages

Genre: Historical Fiction // Fantasy // Young Adult

Rating: 3.5 stars

Publisher: HarperTeen, an imprint of Harper Collins

Release Date: June 7, 2016

MILANA'S REVIEW

I kept seeing this book floating around Instagram and thought “Oh why not, it sounds kinda cute”! I found myself giggling while reading this book, who even giggles anymore! It was fun, light, funny and just a nice easy read. The book is written in different POVs, Edward, Gifford (G) & Jane. Each character had their own voice and I think having 3 different authors really helped that aspect!

Jane – oh man she was so funny, I really think she is the perfect embodiment of us female book worms. I kept dreaming of being Jane myself. She was just so spunky!

Edward – his POV really bored me in the first section of the book but once it hit part 2 I was getting on board and then part 3 came around and BAM! I was loving it!

Gifford – HAHA, he seriously killed me. He was Shakespeare re-born. His one liners were awesome!

The one downfall for me was the flow of the writing. I did find it choppy in the 3rd part of the book. Not sure what happened but it felt rushed to me and I thought if they had removed some parts of part 2 and extended part 3 it would’ve worked better for me personally. However! Not something to dwell on this book was a great read! If you’re a fan of The Princess Bride, Austen, and Shakespeare I really think you’ll enjoy this one! There were quite a few references to all 3 and my favourite Shakespeare quote was the inspiration behind a sentence in the book that made me super giddy as it described Jane perfectly!

bottom of page