top of page

Sleeping Giants: Ominous & Wondrous


SYNOPSIS

A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square hole, its walls glowing with intricate carvings. But the firemen who come to save her peer down upon something even stranger: a little girl in the palm of a giant metal hand. Seventeen years later, the mystery of the bizarre artifact remains unsolved—its origins, architects, and purpose unknown. Its carbon dating defies belief; military reports are redacted; theories are floated, then rejected. But some can never stop searching for answers. Rose Franklin is now a highly trained physicist leading a top secret team to crack the hand’s code. And along with her colleagues, she is being interviewed by a nameless interrogator whose power and purview are as enigmatic as the provenance of the relic. What’s clear is that Rose and her compatriots are on the edge of unraveling history’s most perplexing discovery—and figuring out what it portends for humanity. But once the pieces of the puzzle are in place, will the result prove to be an instrument of lasting peace or a weapon of mass destruction?

Page Count: 304 pages

Genre: Science Fiction

Rating: 5 stars

Publisher: Del Rey, an imprint of Penguin Random House

Release Date: April 26, 2016

MILANA'S REVIEW

I must say this story was a pleasant surprise. The artwork on the outside sleeve and the inside cover is what truly intrigued me to pick it up. While I browsed the first few pages I noticed it was written in a Q&A format, newspaper articles and snippets of conversations. This type of format is something I generally shy away from as I find the writing choppy. NOT THE CASE HERE. I was hooked.

Each character is interviewed by an ominous voice. This voice ended up being my favourite character, I was completely enthralled and spooked out and completely sucked in. If you're not a fan of science fiction this is a really great introduction to the genre. If you are a fan of science fiction I truly believe this book will surprise you.

Have you seen Prometheus? That movie had a specific air to it that gave me goosebumps and as I was reading Sleeping Giants I had the same feeling! I was so excited and when I found out this book is going to be a movie I jumped up and down. Can't wait.

bottom of page