top of page

The Bird & The Sword: It'll Completely Enrapture You


SYNOPSIS

Swallow, Daughter, pull them in, those words that sit upon your lips. Lock them deep inside your soul, hide them ‘til they’ve time to grow. Close your mouth upon the power, curse not, cure not, ‘til the hour. You won’t speak and you won’t tell, you won’t call on heav’n or hell. You will learn and you will thrive. Silence, Daughter. Stay alive. The day my mother was killed, she told my father I wouldn’t speak again, and she told him if I died, he would die too. Then she predicted the king would trade his soul and lose his son to the sky. My father has a claim to the throne, and he is waiting in the shadows for all of my mother’s words to come to pass. He wants desperately to be king, and I just want to be free. But freedom will require escape, and I’m a prisoner of my mother’s curse and my father’s greed. I can’t speak or make a sound, and I can’t wield a sword or beguile a king. In a land purged of enchantment, love might be the only magic left, and who could ever love . . . a bird?

Author: Amy Harmon

Page Count: 352 pages

Genre: Fantasy // Romance // Fiction

Rating: 5 stars

Publisher: Createspace, an Amazon Company

Release Date: May 6, 2016

MILANA'S REVIEW

Reviewing this book is very difficult for me because Amy Harmon has stolen my words from me. This enchanting story was so wonderfully woven I couldn’t tear my eyes away from the pages. I was pulled into it completely and I felt a rush of feelings while reading it that I have rarely felt before.

The pacing of this story was so well done that I kept aching, yearning for more. The story begins with Lark, a child with a dangerous power, witnessing the death of her mother. Lark is known as someone who is Gifted, but being Gifted in Jeru is forbidden and the punishment for being Gifted is death. In the hopes of protecting Lark her mother curses the King before he kills her, she condemns his son to a fate worse than death and promises Lark’s father that should any harm come to her he will suffer the same fate. Lark’s mother takes away Lark’s words so that without speech, without being able to use her power, she will survive.

Lark grows up mute, resented by her father and caged from the world. She spends her days avoiding everyone, keeping to herself and nature until the day the late King’s son, Tiras, comes and takes her away. Tiras, now King, keeps Lark locked in the castle until her father agrees to send his troops to fight the on-going war against The Volgar, birdman who have no humanity in them, only the will to kill.

As the story unfolds you are weaved into this fantasy world, you experience everything Lark feels in a way only Amy can do, and you’re left speechless. I cannot put to words how much I loved this book. I cannot do it justice by just telling you I loved it. I cannot force it upon you but if you trust me and let yourself fall into this novel you will not regret it.

The Bird & The Sword, I think I might keep you.

bottom of page