top of page

Every Heart A Doorway: You Capture MY Heart


SYNOPSIS

Eleanor West’s Home for Wayward Children No Solicitations No Visitors No Quests Children have always disappeared under the right conditions; slipping through the shadows under a bed or at the back of a wardrobe, tumbling down rabbit holes and into old wells, and emerging somewhere... else.But magical lands have little need for used-up miracle children. Nancy tumbled once, but now she’s back. The things she’s experienced... they change a person. The children under Miss West’s care understand all too well. And each of them is seeking a way back to their own fantasy world. But Nancy’s arrival marks a change at the Home. There’s a darkness just around each corner, and when tragedy strikes, it’s up to Nancy and her new-found schoolmates to get to the heart of the matter. No matter the cost.

Page Count: 173 pages

Genre: Fantasy

Rating: 5 stars

Release Date: April 5, 2016

MILANA'S REVIEW

This short story my friends was AMAZING. Wow, I am in love with this book. The imagery was so beautiful. Warning it is dark and spooky and mega twists your mind but I adored it. It had everything I wanted, strong characters, complicated characters, beautiful characters. It has a fast pace, wonderful writing, strange spooky twists, amazing settings, etc, etc. I wanted more! And I cannot wait for the next book.

This is exactly the kind of book that my soul needed. It was full of many insights into human behaviour and different human needs. McGuire captured my attention completely so much so that I wish I could live in all the fairylands described. This is not a typical book, it is full of mystery even after you've finished it. The entire time you may be thinking well, this is all in Nancy's (the main characters) imagination right? Maybe, maybe not. It makes you think and it propels you into a world of thrill.

I also learned the importance of using correct words when describing people such as the words trans vs. transgendered vs. transgender. This was such an important lesson for me I am so glad I read this book!

bottom of page