top of page

Down Among The Sticks & Bones: Perfectly Perfect In Every Way


SYNOPSIS

Twin sisters Jack and Jill were seventeen when they found their way home and were packed off to Eleanor West’s Home for Wayward Children. This is the story of what happened first… Jacqueline was her mother’s perfect daughter—polite and quiet, always dressed as a princess. If her mother was sometimes a little strict, it’s because crafting the perfect daughter takes discipline. Jillian was her father’s perfect daughter—adventurous, thrill-seeking, and a bit of a tom-boy. He really would have preferred a son, but you work with what you've got. They were five when they learned that grown-ups can’t be trusted. They were twelve when they walked down the impossible staircase and discovered that the pretense of love can never be enough to prepare you a life filled with magic in a land filled with mad scientists and death and choices.

Page Count: 189 pages

Genre: Fantasy

Rating: 5 stars

Release Date: June 13, 2017

MILANA'S REVIEW

As a person who naturally gravitates to the spooky side of life (ghosts, vampires, werewolves, etc) I am always seeking books that leave me with an unsettled feeling that craves more. Seanan McGuire has perfectly brought that feeling into her short stories. This book overlaps with her first book through two characters that appear in the first of the Wayward Children series, but can be read as a stand alone.

When I finished Every Heart a Doorway I thought “how will she top this”? I personally loved this one EVEN more than the first. It was an eerie and deliciously dark fairy tale. I loved the characters and the ominous feeling of the world. The moon description alone made me salivate, no joke. Most of all I loved the barriers McGuire broke down when it came to answer the question “what does it mean to be a girl”?

As a fast read this story was so powerful that when it finished I text the lovely Alyssa (@bookwraith) who introduced me to her first book and said “I NEED MORE”. I’m so happy she’s writing a third book in the series, can’t wait!

I’d like to send a huge thank you to Raincoast Books for sending me a copy! Raincoast brings books to us Canadians and it makes my heart happy, thank you!


bottom of page