top of page

The Table of Less Valued Knights: A Joint Review


SYNOPSIS

Sir Humphrey du Val of the Table of Less Valued Knights - Camelot's least prestigious table, boringly rectangular in shape and with one leg shorter than the other so that it always has to be propped up with a folded napkin to stop it from rocking - has been banned by King Arthur from going on quests, and hasn't left the castle in fifteen years. He's tempted out of his imposed retirement by Elaine, who is looking for her kidnapped fiancé. She appears to be the classic Damsel in Distress, but turns out to have a big secret to hide. Across the border in Puddock, the new young queen, Martha, is appalled to be married off against her will to the odious Prince Edwin of Tuft. She disguises herself as a boy and runs away, but doesn't get very far before the Locum of the Lake - standing in for the full-time Lady - intercepts her with some startling news: Martha's brother, the true heir to the throne of Puddock, is not dead as she has always thought, and Martha must go on her own quest to find him. The two quests collide, entangling Humphrey, Elaine and Martha's lives, and introducing a host of Arthurian misfits, including a twelve-year-old crone, a magic sword with a mind of her own, a freakishly short giant, and not one but three men in iron masks.

Page Count: 320 pages

Genre: Fantasy // Fiction // Historical Fiction

Rating: 4 stars

Release Date: August 12, 2014

MILANA'S REVIEW

Marie Phillips is such a hilarious writer! I first heard of her when I picked up Gods Behaving Badly randomly. It was so funny and I read it in one sitting. That's the great thing about her books, they flow so well that you can read them quickly!

So as we creep closer and closer to May 12th, the day the new King Arthur movie comes out, I am aching to get into the Medieval spirit. I need it. I crave it. Ahhh! So I picked up The Table of Less Valued Knights. This book is hilarious! I laughed out loud and I love how Marie tackles some important themes in our lives today but setting them in Medieval times. Such a good read! So good in fact that Alex has read it as well. What did you think Alex?

ALEX'S REVIEW

I am very much a sucker for the medieval ages. Swords, knights, castles and all. I totally can't wait for the Charlie Hunnam King Arthur movie coming in May. Milana and I have never been so psyched. This book delivered all of my craving for a medieval story but in a fresh and zany way. A new take, if you will, of the the classic telling of King Arthur's knights very much in the style that is Marie Phillips' own.

I loved each and every character! The subtle touches of satire were expertly placed to flow so smoothly along with the bumbling adventures of Martha, Humphrey and Elaine.


bottom of page