top of page

Sweet Black Waves


SYNOPSIS

Not you without me, not me without you. Two proud kingdoms stand on opposite shores, with only a bloody history between them. As best friend and lady-in-waiting to the princess, Branwen is guided by two principles: devotion to her homeland and hatred for the raiders who killed her parents. When she unknowingly saves the life of her enemy, he awakens her ancient healing magic and opens her heart. Branwen begins to dream of peace, but the princess she serves is not so easily convinced. Fighting for what's right, even as her powers grow beyond her control, will set Branwen against both her best friend and the only man she's ever loved. Inspired by the star-crossed tale of Tristan and Eseult, this is the story of the legend’s true heroine: Branwen. For fans of Graceling and The Mists of Avalon, this is the first book of a lush fantasy trilogy about warring countries, family secrets, and forbidden romance.

Page Count: 448 pages

Genre: Fantasy // Young Adult

Rating: 5 stars

Publisher: Imprint Reads

Release Date: June 5, 2018

MILANA'S REVIEW

I was talking to a friend of mine (Adrienne from @mybookishbones) about how hard it is to find books that are being released these days with a feeling of an atmosphere to them. For example, the Brontes and Daphne du Maurier captured the feel of the moors so effortlessly that when reading their books you feel transformed into that world, that feeling of gothic warmth.

Let me tell you how excited I was when I started reading Sweet Black Waves, so excited I sent her multiple texts throughout the read saying “the atmosphere! The mood! I love this Adrienne.” I felt as though I was transported to their land and could walk alongside the characters just like I have in my favourite classics.

The writing in this book was honestly breathtaking and the characters were so well written they felt as though they could have existed so long ago. That’s the magic of 5 star rated books, they feel like so much more than just a book. At one point I felt as though I could open a door and land on the beach beside the characters. Enough gushing from me, go grab a copy for yourself!

**Thank you so much Imprint Reads for sending the ARC my way for an honest review.**


bottom of page