top of page

Heart of Thorns


SYNOPSIS

In the ancient river kingdom, touch is a battlefield, bodies the instruments of war. Seventeen-year-old Mia Rose has pledged her life to hunting Gwyrach: women who can manipulate flesh, bones, breath, and blood. Not women. Demons. The same demons who killed her mother without a single scratch. But when Mia's father suddenly announces her marriage to the prince, she is forced to trade in her knives and trousers for a sumptuous silk gown. Only after the wedding goes disastrously wrong does she discover she has dark, forbidden magic—the very magic she has sworn to destroy.

Author: Bree Barton

Page Count: 464 pages

Genre: Fantasy // Young Adult

Rating: 2.5 stars

Publisher: HCC Frenzy, an imprint of Harper Collins

Release Date: July 31, 2018

MILANA'S REVIEW

It's been a rough road with YA fantasy lately for me. There's just too many things that have overshadowed the overall enjoyment of the book for me this year with young adult fantasy. I thought this one had a lot of potential but one major thing really stuck out for me and I couldn't shake it off for the life of me.

When I'm reading a fantasy book I want to be immersed and taken into the world so completely that when I get up to grab some water/food or use the bathroom (because why else would you stop reading) I want to be jolted back to reality, run and do whatever mundane thing I needed to do and bounce back into the writing. With this one I couldn't fully immerse. The use of anatomy words completely shut the door on the world for me. Words such as mandible, zygomatic bones, medulla, etc.. just didn't work in a medieval setting for me. As an aside, I like books that are subtle with their ideals and feminist values and did not find this one subtle at all.

Interestingly enough I was chatting with my friend from @trissinalovesbooks and she said the medical jargon didn't even phase her. So really you should just give this one a shot because you never know even based on someone's review if the book is for you, only you know!

**Thank you HCC Frenzy for sending me a review copy of Heart of Thorns for an honest review.**


bottom of page