top of page

Backlist Blast! [5]


Welcome to the backlist blast vault. This is where you'll find all the posts dedicated to books that have been published years before! It's time we tackle that giant tbr pile once and for all and give some love to books that have been published prior to the last 6 months. If you'd like to join me just shoot me a message/email that you've participated so I can see your post! Visit FlaviaTheBibliophile for more!

__________

Author: Stephanie Danler

Page Count: 368 pages

Release Date: May 24, 2016

Genre: Fiction

Publisher: Vintage

__________

This Backlist Blast is a little different this time. This was not a book I've had on my shelves for awhile. It was not a book recommended by anyone. This was a book I picked up because I had binge watched the tv show based on the book in a day! There's something so alluring about wine and intricate food. Food that's been prepared for hours and concocted by a chef. I have to say though, that lifestyle is too suave for me. Maybe if I had someone to teach me the ropes. Or I could go work at an upscale restaurant. But for now I will settle with the book.

__________

SYNOPSIS

Newly arrived in New York City, twenty-two-year-old Tess lands a job working front of house at a celebrated downtown restaurant. What follows is her education: in champagne and cocaine, love and lust, dive bars and fine dining rooms, as she learns to navigate the chaotic, enchanting, punishing life she has chosen. The story of a young woman's coming-of-age, set against the glitzy, grimy backdrop of New York's most elite restaurants, in Sweetbitter Stephanie Danler deftly conjures the nonstop and high-adrenaline world of the food industry and evokes the infinite possibilities, the unbearable beauty, and the fragility and brutality of being young and adrift.

__________


bottom of page