top of page

Daughters of the Storm


SYNOPSIS

FIVE ROYAL SISTERS. ONE CROWN. They are the daughters of a king. Though they share the same royal blood, they could not be more different. Bluebell is a proud warrior, stronger than any man and with an ironclad heart to match. Rose's heart is all too passionate: She is the queen of a neighboring kingdom, who is risking everything for a forbidden love. The twins: vain Ivy, who lives for admiration, and zealous Willow, who lives for the gods. And Ash, who is discovering a dangerous talent for magic that might be a gift--or a curse. But when their father is stricken by a mysterious ailment, they must come together on a desperate journey to save him and prevent their treacherous stepbrother from seizing the throne. Their mission: find the powerful witch who can cure the king. But to succeed on their quest, they must overcome their differences, and hope that the secrets they hide from one another and the world are never brought to light. Because if this royal family breaks, it could destroy the kingdom.

Author: Kim Wilkins

Page Count: 437 pages

Genre: Fantasy

Rating: 3.5 stars

Publisher: Del Rey Books, an imprint of Penguin Random House

Release Date: March 6, 2018

MILANA'S REVIEW

This book had me at “high fantasy with major female characters” and then turned out to be a good read, not great and amazing but just good. Daughters of the Storm had such promise, I really expected a bit more out of it. However, there are two more books coming so this could’ve been more of an intro. I just wanted more magic, more battles, just…more.

When in a fantasy setting I expect to be transported and pulled in so deep I need to claw my way out. So that I need to force myself away from the pages. My biggest pet peeve with fantasy books is when an author does not make their own curse language which was the most trouble I had here. One of the sisters, the tough one, has a foul mouth but instead of using words from the medieval world she lives in she instead says “fuck”. When I read the first one I was completely jarred and thrown back into reality. This continued on throughout the book and so I was not fully immersed.

I still have hope for the next installments so I do recommend you give Daughters of the Storm a try if you like strong female leads, complicated family dynamics and new worlds.

**Thank you Penguin Canada for sending me a copy for review.**


bottom of page