top of page

Finding Baba Yaga

SYNOPSIS

You think you know this story.

You do not.

A harsh, controlling father.

A quiescent mother.

A house that feels like anything but a home.

Natasha gathers the strength to leave, and comes upon a little house in the wood: A house that walks about on chicken feet and is inhabited by a fairy tale witch. In finding Baba Yaga, Natasha finds her voice, her power, herself....

A mythic yet timely novel-in-verse by the beloved and prolific author and poet Jane Yolen, “the Hans Christian Andersen of America.”

Author: Jane Yolen

Page Count: 144 pages

Genre: Poetry // Fantasy

Rating: 4 stars

Publisher: TorDotCom

Release Date: October 30, 2018

MILANA'S REVIEW

Upon finishing Finding Baba Yaga I thought to myself "wow that was so atmospheric". When I feel the words in my gut I know that the writing is fantastic. This is a fairy tale set in modern times told through the form of verse. So! It's a different read. Do not go into this one expecting the norm, expect the unexpected.

As a child Baba Yaga (Baba Roga) was a scare tactic used by my parents and let me tell you.. it worked! I went to bed so quickly thanks to Baba Yaga. It was told that she came out at night and kidnapped children if you didn't go to sleep. I know. Terrifying. Ever since then I've always been curious about how she's portrayed in other cultures and in other stories. And I loved her in this rendition! Perfectly spooky with a feminist twist.

Although short this story had so much imagery and emotion to it I was completely engrossed. A perfect read for October! Definitely pick up a copy!

**Thank you TorDotCom for sending me an advanced copy for an honest review.**


bottom of page