top of page

The Dark Descent of Elizabeth Frankenstein



SYNOPSIS

Elizabeth Lavenza hasn't had a proper meal in weeks. Her thin arms are covered with bruises from her "caregiver," and she is on the verge of being thrown into the streets . . . until she is brought to the home of Victor Frankenstein, an unsmiling, solitary boy who has everything--except a friend. Victor is her escape from misery. Elizabeth does everything she can to make herself indispensable--and it works. She is taken in by the Frankenstein family and rewarded with a warm bed, delicious food, and dresses of the finest silk. Soon she and Victor are inseparable. But her new life comes at a price. As the years pass, Elizabeth's survival depends on managing Victor's dangerous temper and entertaining his every whim, no matter how depraved. Behind her blue eyes and sweet smile lies the calculating heart of a girl determined to stay alive no matter the cost . . . as the world she knows is consumed by darkness.

Page Count: 304 pages

Genre: Fantasy // Young Adult

Rating: 4 stars

Publisher: Delacorte Press, an imprint of Penguin Random House

Release Date: September 25, 2018

MILANA'S REVIEW

If ever a book sets a tone that makes you feel as though every scene is cloudy and moody send it to me, immediately. This is always what I'm looking for and I'm so happy I found it in The Dark Descent of Elizabeth Frankenstein.

It's been a few years since I've re-read the original story but I always remember the feeling that it gave me. That gut wrenching hold. I'm so happy to say that White did an amazing job with this re-telling. It was alluring in the way Frankenstein is and it was suspenseful in the same way. I think Mary Shelley is smiling right now, what a way to celebrate 200 years of her masterpiece. I need to read more from this author because her writing is lyrical and beautiful.

One of my favourite parts of this book were the chapter headings, grab a copy and you'll see what I mean! I also recommend reading both the original and this one so you can compare and contrast! It will really complete the reading experience.

**Thank you Penguin CA for sending me an advanced copy in exchange for an honest review.**


bottom of page