top of page

Top Ten Tuesday: Underrated Fantasy Series


Welcome to another Top Ten Tuesday post! Fantasy is my favourite genre and I am so excited to list my favourite fantasy series!

__________

10. The Others by Anne Bishop

This series is one I struggle with but enjoy! It’s urban fantasy but they’re quite slow for that genre. I always want more to happen but it doesn’t which brings me back to the struggle. I do really like reading them so I say give them a shot!

9. Sookie Stackhouse Series by Charlaine Harris

Remember the show True Blood? Did you know it’s based on books? Yes! The Sookie Stackhouse is one of those “guilty pleasure” reads for me. I adore these books and was hooked for many a nights!

8. The Shadow Campaigns by Django Wexler

Character development is a huge sticking point for me. It forms the basis for whether I will love a work or throw it aside. The characters in Django Wexler’s Shadow Campaign books are so unique and grow so much over the course of the series that I couldn’t help but love each one which is why I had to pick this series!

7. The Bird & The Sword Chronicles by Amy Harmon

This book! I just rattled me. There’s a companion novel that came out recently which I loved just as much and more to come! If you love fairytales and richly woven words you’ll love it!

6. The Broken Empire Series by Mark Lawrence

You know when you love something an author does and what you hate it but rarely do you fall somewhere in the middle. This series teetered on an edge for me, the author made a decision that completely threw me. I was unsure whether I would love it or hate it as I continued but knew I needed to. Surprisingly, it worked beautifully and made the series a top 3 for me.

5. The Queen's Thief Series by Megan Whalen Turner

This series blew me away. I only found out about these a few months ago and was shocked by how deep the connections go. This is one of those series I am looking forward to re-reading once I finish. I am on book 4/6 and they just keep getting better!

4. Daughter of Smoke & Bone Trilogy by Laini Taylor

I am so happy my friends have given these a shot! Daughter of Smoke & Bone has been keeping me company for 7 years and it’s always hard to recommend it because I want to keep Karou & Akiva all to myself but I also want others to meet them, it’s a tough one! These books make me ache. Remember to read all of Laini Taylor books slowly, letting the words settle into your mind.

3. The Bone Season Series by Samantha Shannon

For four years I’ve been harassing people to read The Bone Season and when I saw they were getting traction on bookstagram I squealed! I was beyond excited people were reading this series and after meeting Samantha Shannon in person my love for the books grew even more!

2. The Powder Mage Trilogy by Brian McClellan

This series felt like it was written for me personally. As much as I would like to claim that is true, sadly it isn’t. Brian McClellan creates the universe I wanted, with the characters it needed, and the combination of magic and muskets that made me drool in anticipation for each new book. With a collection of Novellas to go with them the characters have great depth that is expanded throughout.

1. October Daye Series by Seanan McGuire

Although I am new to the October Daye books I have zapped through the first 4 books in TWO weeks. This is rare for me. Very rare that I read a series this quickly AND enjoy each book craving more once it ends. I can’t believe I’ve never heard of these books prior to 30 days ago! If you love urban fantasy and Fae worlds this one is perfection!


bottom of page